Sorry Sold out

Release date: 7 April, 2011

First Released in 2011. 

Frankenstein: Music From The Play

In 2011, Underworld contributed the score and all audio effects to the National Theatre’s production of Frankenstein (directed by Danny Boyle). The play stars; Benedict Cumberbatch, Jonny Lee Miller, Naomie Harris, Karl Johnson and George Harris.

 Frankenstein: Music From The Play

  1. Overture
  2. Incubator
  3. Industrial Revolution
  4. Dawn Of Eden
  5. Beggars Attack And Creature Alone
  6. De Lacey Cottage Guitar
  7. Not A King (Snow)
  8. Faery Folk And Nightingale
  9. Female Creature Dream
  10. Creature Banished And Cottagers Burn
  11. Hide And Seek, Body In Boat
  12. The Alps
  13. Frankenstein House
  14. Sea Shanty And Croft
  15. Bride Creature.Walk
  16. Bride Creature.Death 1:17
  17. Wedding Song And Bedroom
  18. Arctic Wastes
  19. Come Scientist Destroy

Rick and Karl’s relationship with Danny Boyle spans most of their time as Underworld (Mark 2), and most of his as a filmmaker. His second film, 1996’s Trainspotting, famously closed with Born Slippy: NUXX, something that elevated a B side from the previous year to something close to National Anthem status. Later, they provided music for The Beach (8 Ball) and the soundtrack to his claustrophobic space-horror movie Sunshine. 

Frankenstein is the soundtrack to Danny’s National Theatre production of Nick Dear’s play (based on the classic text by Mary Shelley). Benedict Cumberbatch and Jonny Lee Miller were cast in rotating lead roles as the scientist and the monster and Rick and Karl were brought in to create all of the play’s music and sound design (along with Ed Clarke). 

Much more than a curiosity, Frankenstein is the closest thing (yet) to an Underworld ambient record - a set of lush and atmospheric, often bewitching and strange pieces, Frankenstein is given a gorgeous, very human warmth through Karl’s plaintive guitar playing and the occasional shanty-like chorus from the original cast. 

Vinyl LP